Carmageddon: Reincarnation Is Finally Out of Early Access

Carmageddon: Reincarnation, which revives the “points for pedestrians” destruction derby-style car game series, is finally out of Steam Early Access. The game was released earlier this week after being delayed from its original April 22 launch date.

“In 1997, a videogame was released that caused establishment scandal and media hysteria around the world,” developer Stainless Games said. “Banned in some countries, censored in others, and even condemned by a Pope [not the actual Pope, but a British minister of parliament named Pope], overnight it became the poster child for everything that’s wrong in society… and therefore right in a videogame…And now, Stainless Games is proud to announce the FULL RELEASE of the latest ground-breaking game in the series.”

The final game’s Career Mode spans 16 chapters, each including 3-4 events, with 50 events to compete in overall. The multiplayer mode will allow up to eight players online or over LAN, and includes six event types: Classic Carmageddon, Car Crusher, Fox ‘n’ Hounds, Ped Chase, Death Race, and Checkpoint Stampede.

There are also nine maps, 36 race routes, and 24 vehicles to choose from, unless you were a Kickstarter backer, which will get you a special edition bonus car.

The game was funded on Kickstarter in 2012 with over $625,000, and in 2013 Stainless Games raised an additional $3.5 million from Bullfrog Productions founder Les Edgar, which the developer said would allow it to bring Carmageddon: Reincarnation to Xbox One and PlayStation 4 as well as PC.

Battlefield 4 Patch With New Guns and Mode Coming This Tuesday

Battlefield 4‘s spring update, which adds new guns and a new mode to the multiplayer first-person shooter, will release this Tuesday May 26, developer DICE has announced.

The update will hit all platforms according the following schedule:

  • PC: Multiplayer will be offline for 1h starting 08.00 UTC / 1.00 AM PDT.
  • Xbox One: Multiplayer will be offline for 1h starting 09.00 UTC / 2.00 AM PDT.
  • Xbox 360: Multiplayer will be offline for 1h starting 10.00 UTC / 3.00 AM PDT.
  • PS4: Multiplayer will be offline for 1h starting 11.00 UTC / 4.00 AM PDT.
  • PS3: Multiplayer will be offline for 1h starting 12.00 UTC / 5.00 AM PDT.

In addition to the old Gun Master mode from Battlefield 3. The patch will add five new weapons, and while DICE didn’t share their exact names and look, it gave us a general idea for what to expect:

  • New fan favorite Assault Rifle – Picked based on its unique burst gameplay and massive fan desirability
  • New Carbine – A unique bullpup carbine with built-in vertical grip
  • New PDW – A unique PDW with built-in silencer
  • New Sidearm – Unique long range “sniper” sidearm using magnum rounds
  • New LMG – Magazine fed LMG, which with the new weapons balance, plays in between a belt-fed LMG and an AR – your “run and gun” LMG

Gun Master, which gained its popularity in the Battlefield 3: Close Quarters DLC, is like Team Deathmatch, but you only get new weapons every time you get two consecutive kills, and the first player to get a kill with the final weapon wins.

The patch will also “significantly improve client stability on all platforms,” fix a number of issues that cause crashes, and rebalance all weapons, which you can read about in greater detail here.

DICE said that it will release full patch notes once the update is released.

Crossy Road Developer Is Making a New Pac-Man

Bandai Namco Studios Vancouver and Crossy Road developer Hipster Whale are working on a new Pac-Man mobile game called Pac-Man 256, the companies have announced.

The game is named after the infamous 256 glitch. When players reached that level in the original Pac-Man arcade machine, half the screen turned into a garbled mess of random characters. Hipster Whale and Bandai Namco say that in Pac-Man 256, the player will be chased by the glitch through an endless maze.

In short, the game sounds and looks like a mix between Crossy Road and Pac-Man.

“Playing PAC-MAN in a seaside arcade in 1980 is one of my earliest memories,” Hipster Whale Director Matthew Hall said. “It is an incredible honor to be able to contribute to one of the most iconic video game franchises in history. Our game, PAC-MAN 256, takes the infamous ‘glitch’ level of PAC-MAN and builds upon this to become a unique game that retains the retro spirit of the original.”

Crossy Road, in case you haven’t played it, is an incredibly successful “endless hopper” mobile game inspired by Frogger. For more on the game, check out GameSpot’s interview with Hipster Whale’s Andy Sum and Matthew Hall.

Check Out Madden NFL 16’s First Screenshots

Publisher Electronic Arts has released the first set of screenshots from the latest entry in its football franchise Madden NFL 16.EA says that the new game will have improved time of day lighting that will help highlight Madden NFL 16’s updated player …

Scrabble Dictionary Adds “Newb,” “Pwn,” and “LOLZ”

The iconic word board game Scrabble has added the word “newb” to its official dictionary along with some other Internet-speak terms most gamers will recognize.

Collins, which publishes the Official Scrabble Words dictionary, has added 6,500 words to the board game overall in its first update since 2011.

Some other words you may have seen during an in-game chat include:

  • Pwn, meaning to dominate an opponent, is worth 8 points
  • Thanx, which is only one letter shorter than “thanks,” is worth 15 points
  • LOLZ, “laughs at someone else’s or one’s own expense,” according to Collins, is worth 13 points
  • WAHH, to express wailing, is worth 10 points

You can find the new Collins Official Scrabble Words dictionary here.

“Dictionaries have always included formal and informal English, but it used to be hard to find printed evidence of the use of slang words,” head of language content at Collins Helen Newstead told the BBC. “Now people use slang in social media posts, tweets, blogs, comments, text messages—you name it—so there’s a host of evidence for informal varieties of English that simply didn’t exist before.”

Unfortunately, 1337, n00b, and shrekt have yet to make it into the dictionary. Maybe next time.